Exclusive Features of Different Types of Iguana

Spread the love

Know The Different Types of Iguana

Iguanas belong to iguanidae lizard family. They have most common features like tails, eyelids and long legs. These cold blooded creatures and can live for about 20 years.

Most of the breeds of iguanas are found in Central and Sothern America, Mexico, Lesser Antilles Islands, Florida, Hawaii and California. Many varieties of the iguana belong to arboreal category. These iguanas mostly live on the top of tree, in deserts, rocky trails and marine iguanas live in coastal areas in caves. 


Iguanidae family comprises primarily eight types of iguanas: These are  Genus: Cyrclura,  Amblyrhyncus,  Conolophus,  Brachylophus,  Ctenosauria,  Dipsosaurus and Sauromalus

The Genus Cyrclura or rock iguana is found in Caribbean islands. This is a rare species now and under protection as imperiled species. These iguanas are not traded.

The other specific type is Genus Amblyrhyncus also called marine iguanas or Galapagos Marine Iguana. The marine iguanas is the most arduous to be kept in confinement. They essentially feed on marine algae that are almost imposible to create commercially.

Genus Conolophus, have closest resemblance with the marine iguana. This iguana is also known as Galapagos Land Iguana and basically eats plants and cactus.
The next varieties, Genus Ctenosauria are spiny tailed iguanas. They are basically natives of Mexico and Central America. Further, they are very small in comparison to other varieties of iguanas and can grow only from 5 inches to 35 inches in length.

They have big scales on their tails, which is their most spectacular feature. They are omnivores and feed on fruits, flowerrs and small insects as well.
Genus Dipsosaurus iguana is the dessert iguana from Southern America and Mexico. It is full-bodied and has a raised top. It has prolonged scales on the back. Their bellies are white in color and tails have white spots and have stripes. They are normally about 15 inch in size when grown up. They have long tails almost double the length of their bodies.

Genus Sauromalus iguana is referred as Chuckwalla. This species is full-bodied herbaceous iguana normally living in Mexico and United States. This variety of iguana is totally vegetarian and lives on leaves, fruits, and flowers only. Chuckwalla mostly possesses a fat body and its skin loosely hangs over its body. These reptiles love heat very much.  In the morning, they will not move until the temperature touches 100 degrees Fahrenheit. If there is extra heat, they will either change their color to reflect the sunlight or take shelter in the shade.  The Chuckwallas are also good to be kept as pets. They will not move much around.

Last of these is Genus Brachylophus or Fijian Iguana that is usually found in the islands of Tonga and Fiji.

Some species of iguana are categorized as endangered species these days; their possession is illegal and is punishable under law.

David M Peterson

For Marketing Software:

My Facebook Page

Copyright 2018. All rights reserved.

Posted October 23, 2017 by David Peterson in category "Iguanas